The Australian Medical Council (AMC) has developed a revised National Framework for Prevocational Medical Training (National Framework) for implementation in all states and territories in Australia.

The National Framework aims to provide a generalist longitudinal experience for prevocational training that is consistent nationwide.

To meet the requirements towards general registration in PGY1, prevocational doctors must: 

  • Complete a minimum 47 weeks 
  • Gain exposure to all four clinical experiences  
  • Complete PGY1 within 3 years 
  • Meet all of the prevocational outcome statements by the end of the prevocational year 
    • Supplementary evidence will need to be provided if an outcome statement was unable to be achieved during the year (e.g., course attendance) 
  • Undergo a mid-term and end-of-term assessment each term  

To meet the PGY2 Program requirements, prevocational doctors must: 

  • Exposure to Clinical Experience A (Undifferentiated patient illness).
  • Exposure to Clinical Experience B (Chronic illness).
  • Exposure to Clinical Experience C (Acute and critical care illness).
  • No more than 25% of the year spent in service rotations.
  • No more that 25% of time in one subspecialty.

For more information, please access the below resources:

Resources to help you understand your prevocational training journey

Video – Introduction to PMCV and the National Framework

Video – Key Roles at your Health Service

Video – Term Objectives and Assessments

Video – How to Engage with Supervisors as a Prevocational Doctor

Key Components of the Framework

Clinical Experiences

Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs)

Term Discussions and Assessments



AMC Guide to prevocational training in Australia for PGY1 and PGY2 doctors

AMC Glossary of Terms 

AMC Prevocational Doctor Flyer